Nordic Free Software Award

The winner of the Nordic Free Software Award 2009, is actually two winners: Daniel Stenberg and Simon Josefsson.

The two winners share the price equally, the order of them in this presentation is unimportant.

One of the winners has for many years worked as part of the GNU Project on the network security packages GNUTLS and GNU Sishi. GNU TLS provides a complete, standards-compliant library for secure socket communication, available
to all free software applications, and GNU Sishi is a free implementation of the industry standard Kerberos 5 network security system.

In addition, this winner has made many contributions to free software, including the GNU IDN library, providing support for internationalised domain names, and contributing to free software solutions for OpenID.

The other winner is awarded for his long term contributions to free software.
This winner have been developing free software for at least 15 years, and is a prominent contributor to at least 10 different projects.

This winners most spread contribution is the program Curl and the library libCurl which both has an enormous installed base. Libcurl has bindings in more than 40 different languages and they are both deployed all over the
world as a key components in software that people and businesses rely on every day. In addition to these projects the winner is also a key developer in Rockbox, c-ares and libssh2.

About the award
The Nordic Free Software Award is given to people, projects or organisations in the Nordic countries that have made a prominent contribution to the advancement of Free Software. The award will be announced during FSCONS 2009 in Gothenburg.

The nominating period for The Nordic Free Software Award is now closed.

List of nominated 2009

  • Qt development team
  • Simon Josefsson
  • Daniel Stenberg
  • Henrik Nordström
  • Björn Stenberg
  • Andreas Nilsson
  • Varnish
  • Ask Bjørn Hansen
  • Knut Yrvin
  • Jari "Rakshasa" Sundell

    Previous Award winners

  • 2007 SkoleLinux (more info)
  • 2008 Mats Östling (more info)